Standard List


In preparation of your CCNA exam, we want to make sure we cover the various concepts that we could see on your Cisco CCNA exam. So to assist you, below we will discuss one of the more difficult CCNA concepts, Access List Terms. As you progress through your CCNA exam studies, I am sure with repetition you will find this topic becomes easier. So even though it may be a difficult concept and confusing at first, keep at it as no one said getting your Cisco certification would be easy!

These use only the source IP address in an IP packet as the condition test. All decisions are made based on source IP address. This means that standard access lists basically permit or deny an entire suite of protocols. They don’t distinguish between any of the many types of IP traffic such as WWW, Telnet, UDP, etc.


Extended List


Extended access lists can evaluate many of the other fields in the layer 3 and layer 4 headers of an IP packet. They can evaluate source and destination IP addresses, the protocol field in the Network layer header, and port number at the Transport layer header.


Inbound Access Lists


When an access list is applied to inbound packets on an interface, those packets are processed through the access list before being routed to the outbound interface. Any packets that are denied won’t be routed because they’re discarded before the routing process is invoked.


Outbound Access Lists


When an access list is applied to outbound packets on an interface, those packets are routed to the outbound interface and then processed through the access list before being queued.

I hope you found this article to be of use and it helps you prepare for your Cisco CCNA certification. I am sure you will quickly find out that hands-on real world experience is the best way to cement the CCNA concepts in your head to help you pass your CCNA exam!

IPv6 Access Lists

In the latest version of the CCNA exam, we now need to have knowledge of IPv6 access lists as well as IPv4 access lists.  There are many similarities between these two and a few differences that go beyond the addressing.  An important mentioned here is that IPv6 access lists do not use an numbered ACLs.  All IPv6 ACLs are named ACLs.  We go into this in much further depth along with the configurations in our famous CCNA Study materials!